The End?

25 Sep

So, blog, I guess this is the end.

I’m having a weird, bittersweet feeling as I type this. Partly because I’m glad that this would be over after a few more words, and mainly because I know, despite the toxicity and brain trauma this requirement has brought me, I will miss this.

This blog and I, we’ve been together through love and singlehood, through soberness and drunkenness, through stupidity and brilliance. Yes, we’re lovers like that.

I’m not sure if I should continue this blog though. First, I know that my thoughts need to be backed up by experience, which I still don’t have since I’m not yet an OrCom practitioner. And second, I might give myself a blog break. I’ve been maintaining two blogs and it has gotten to the point where I got tired updating both.

But, to wrap up this whole blogging experience, I am convincing myself to continue this blog. Sounds like identity crisis, right? Hahaha.

WHY I/YOU SHOULD CONTINUE BLOGGING:

1. It develops self-discipline. It takes a certain level of discipline to constantly update a blog, especially if it is of a certain field (communications, for example) and not just a personal blog. Extra time and thoughts, they’re hard to schedule. And if you can always make time for blogging, congratulations, you’re developing a greater sense of commitment.

2. It is a portfolio. It documents thoughts that might never cross your mind again. Many years from now, you can visit your blog again, and revisit your thoughts, too. As the famous saying goes, if it’s not written, it does not exist.

3. It captures moments of brilliance. Many times, you won’t know that you know something until you’re typing it already. Does blogging make you more intelligent? Maybe. Does it uncover things you never thought you knew? Definitely.

4. It gives you a more credible online footprint. Social networking sites don’t really have so much weight when employers are looking for what you have to say. SNS profiles should not be corporate-ish. So you need an outlet where people can see how you think and what skills you can offer in the field you want to be in someday.

5. It is fulfilling. There’s nothing more rewarding than seeing your blog move as you post new entries, and seeing people comment on them (especially if they’re not required to HAHA). And the best thing is, it makes you more popular online. πŸ˜‰

So there. I hope I’ll continue blogging. I hope you do too. Let’s make the online world more colorful. More bloggers, more fun.

See you around, loves!

14 Responses to “The End?”

  1. kitsatwork September 28, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    A high school ka-barkada found our old barkada website on blogspot and indeed, it documented “thoughts that might never cross your mind again.” Let’s just say our thoughts were quite ‘jeje’. HAHAHAHA
    The point I’m driving at is I think people should only post things that they are proud of, and will be proud of. When it comes to the trails we leave in our digital environments, we can’t always maintain or monitor them. We’ll never be sure if in the future they might affect our reputations negatively. JEJEJE :))

  2. Comm Detective Eric Wong September 29, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Angel! My very first blog was something I did out of scratch from HTML! Wild! Right now we have the convenience of using blog hosting sites such as WordPress, Blogger, Multiply, etc. And it’s amazing how each one offers their own set of features. πŸ™‚

    BTW, I think that to date I’ve moved my blogs to at least 4 different sites. But now, after this whole blogging exercise for 152, I’m now thinking of moving to a more permanent site for my personal blogs. Actually, I just messaged the current owner of the URL “ericwong.wordpress.com” to try and obtain his URL. πŸ™‚

    See you around the blogosphere! πŸ™‚

  3. gj September 30, 2010 at 12:57 am #

    Amen. Blogging has become quite an experience – at times, drastically a pain that is sometimes insufferable, and at others, a relieving avenue for comfort. As with all experiences, we’d all agree that preferences have been reconfigured, lessons learned, blunders committed, but at the heart of it all – people changed.
    Kudos! Till the next blog and comment! teehee :>

  4. marievalbuena September 30, 2010 at 3:36 am #

    This one was my first ever “seryosohan” blog and yeah, there are a lot of times that updating can be a challenge. But the “aha!” moments are quite nice – you called them moments of brilliance. πŸ™‚ More than an online footprint and credible source of online credentials, I think the blogs that we write are just like photographs that capture the approach with which we look at things.

    It’s like that sometimes right? You look back and find that your views have changed from how it was 5 years ago. I think, after 10 years when we look at these entries, we may have already different things to say about what we have been blogging about now.

  5. commania September 30, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    It’s fun to read the very last post each one has done. Most of them are questioning “To continue or not to continue” writing for their blog.

    After struggling for my blog, I find it really fulfilling, as you have said, to be able to see how we were led out of our box. Most of us write well, but not until this requirement came that we found that out about that. Some were indeed very creative on the topics they have used for their posts. We cannot deny it, OrCom majors are really one of a kind! We just need avenues to unleash our potentials and to get out of the box of THEORIES!! Hehehe. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  6. Justine October 1, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    Hi Angel. πŸ™‚
    I intend to continue my blog, posting my thoughts on new movies and providing reviews for movies that I will watch, all in keeping up with my blog title “Of Subtlety and Subtitles.” I may also feature albums that I like just because I can. It’s my blog after all.
    I hope everyone will continue to blog even after the semester ends. It would be fun to read our batchmates’ thoughts that they can’t convey through microblogging. πŸ™‚

  7. kimgiel October 2, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    hi angel =)
    You’re right. Blogging has a lot of benefits. Aside from Those personal benefits we get, we also help others as we tell them our stories and as we blog ’bout things we just wanna blog about πŸ˜€ More than the information and updates about the latest things are the lessons others learn from us as we share our lives with them. As we share our experiences, learnings and thoughts, people also learn as they read about those. As we openly share our hurts, our failures, our weaknesses and the way we handle these, people find inspiration, healing and the strength to fight their own battles as well.

    • Gel October 2, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

      Yes. I actually find that more applicable to my personal blog (which has not been updated for quite some time now because of a specific reason). I hope you blog about your personal experiences, too, Kim. I know you have a lot of things to say, wonderful things at that. πŸ™‚

  8. morethanscribbles October 2, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    I was really, really afraid to blog for OrCom 152. But after all these entries, I decided not to post something special for my 15th entry. It’s because I totally agree with you, that blogging unleashes our interpretations that sometimes we do not realize if we do not contemplate or write about them! YAY for our online footprints! πŸ˜€

  9. niccy October 2, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    The thought of blog being a portfolio I could open like a good old diary in the future is somehow scary because for sure my future self would say to my old self, “What the f***!!! Ang corny ng sinulat mo!”

    But you see, I’m doing that right now and so far it has given me not just part-humiliation but moreover, a sense of fulfillment. I have improved writing (or blogging for that matter).

    It puts some kind of pressure on me though to keep the standard (or improve it) but that’s a good thing, right? So I guess creating a blog isn’t as bad as I thought it was.

  10. shecainess October 2, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    i hope you continue blogging because i find that you’re good at it. you didn’t bore me reading.. i agree that blogging is fulfilling, it’s amazing how you can thread thoughts together and deliver it for everyone to see. it is also a portfolio. something your potential employers might wanna know about you. blogging wasn’t so bad afterall.

  11. Grace October 2, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    It was such a struggle for me to blog every week considering the fact that all the blogs I’ve ever opened up, I shut down because I couldn’t maintain them. FAIL.
    I think blogging is not for me. Besides, I don’t really like the idea of posting stuff about me or my thoughts in a public domain. However, I might start a music blog soon. That, I’m comfortable with. (Bipolar much? :P)

  12. thetrialballoon October 2, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    It’s so nice to find a blog here that actually motivates blogging, for most of the blogs I come across are saying the other way around. Everything just comes in proper motivation, reason, and decision. If you have the motivation but do nothing with it, it’s useless. Let us all be inspired by this requirement in the future. I know one day we will look back on this and smile. πŸ™‚

  13. discraft October 3, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    I’m not sure if i can maintain my blog in WordPress after the dust has settled. Haha! I’m also not too comfortable divulging information in a public domain. But, i used to blog on Multiply before. It still provides security settings not available on other SNS. That, i might keep. But, come to think of it, my posts here are more relevant than the ones in Multiply. Haha! I still have time to decide though.

Leave a Reply

