Intersection of Hearts

17 Jul


I never wanted to work.

I didn’t want to be in the business. The client folders, the conference rooms – they’re just not for me. I cannot speak professional talk. I cannot feel the power in power dressing.  I was having mid-midlife crisis at 18 and it’s just a lot of uncertain future-related stuff to handle.

noooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Not that I am lazy, nor do I want to add to the country’s unemployed youth. I just had other plans.

I didn’t want to have a family of my own because I wanted to be in an NGO, or go full-time in a charity org. The corporate sector is just too structured and cold for me – too revenue-driven. I know I won’t have enough money to sustain a family if I pursue what I want. Yes, you can attribute it to my being young, hence the idealism and the enthusiasm.

But things change. I need to work because I want to have my own kids. And I want them to have education (blame the country’s low budget for the education sector). Even if my kids were lucky enough to go to UP, I still would not afford the tuition. So, it’s a battle between the lifestyle I’ve always wanted and the economy’s BS.

too cute!

Until my mid-midlife crisis ended last night.

I was reading Chapter 5 of the Cluetrain Manifesto when David Weinberger made me realize that the business sector is not so cold after all. And it’s because of this:

The Web isn’t primarily a medium for information, marketing, or sales. It’s a world in which people meet, talk, build, fight, love, and play.

The Web is where the conversation happens. We don’t need water coolers anymore to have a life. In the Web, no corporate talk is required. Employees can talk to each other about their dogs, how good the food is in the new cafeteria downstairs, while they develop new products and improve their services. Individuals can be themselves, bypass the hierarchy, and not get scolded for it.

It’s a web. It’s about the connections. And on the World Wide Web, the connections are hyperlinks. It’s not just documents that get hyperlinked in the new world of the Web. People do. Organizations do. The Web, in the form of a corporate intranet, puts everyone in touch with every piece of information and with everyone else inside the organization and beyond.

The workplace then becomes less of a building and more of a place for new ideas and partnerships. You get to talk freely with your co-workers, give the service your customers need, and plan a basketball game for Sunday afternoon.

The Web provides a conducive place to let our hair down and wear our fluffy bunny slippers. We can be as comfortable as wearing pajamas while being in business suits.

The stuff on the Web tends to be rich, not dry disquisitions loaded with charts and tables. Rather than a nicely printed report entitled, “An Analysis of Competitive Strengths and Weaknesses of Product #456-A,” you’re more likely to get “Why ‘Gosh Honey You Smell Great for a Corpse’™ Sucks but Will Rule the Underworld Anyway.”

Great. Anything ruling the underworld satisfies my taste buds.

With the Web continuing to expand and being more realistic in form, I guess I am proven wrong when I said that business is too profit-driven and stiff for me:

The character of business is becoming the same as the character of the Web — an explosion reconfigured by the intersection of hearts.

Hearts and ideas – things I’ve always wanted to touch and share.

I might just consider being in the business then. 🙂

3 Responses to “Intersection of Hearts”

  1. Cleve July 18, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    Nice entry Angel! 😉
    Cleve here. 🙂

  2. Cleve July 18, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    Nice entry Angel! 😉
    Cleve here. 🙂 🙂

    • Gel July 20, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

      Thank you Cleve! 😀

Leave a Reply

