On promises and risks

30 Jun

I’m writing this not because I have to.

As I punch these keyboard keys, Filipinos all over the world are hoping for change. Yes, it’s President Noynoy Aquino’s chance to bring back that strong Filipino fighting spirit. Perhaps another chance to give justice to those who deserve it, another chance to trust the government who rules us. Perhaps.

Saan ba nakasulat na kailangang puro pagtitiis ang tadhana ng Pilipino?

Yes. A lot has changed. Many have been wounded. But I’m still a believer. Hindi tamad ang Pilipino. Hindi mangmang ang Pilipino. May pag-asa pang magamit ang kapangyarihan para sa ikabubuti ng karamihan. We are not destined to suffer. With a little patience and more perseverance, we can do this. We can still do this. I know, it’s not that simple. There’s a long journey we must endure, a lot of risky paths we must take. But we have no choice. What we can do is tag along a friend to join us in our journey, enjoy it together, and smile at threats we might face along the way.

Sa mga nangapi sa akin, kaya ko kayong patawarin at pinapatawad ko na kayo.

Sa mga nangapi sa sambayanan, wala akong kakayanan na limutin ang inyong kasalanan.

I promise to be a better Filipino. You should, too. I promise to help save the environment, to serve my country. You should, too.

Last night, AdHere also promised to be the org we, Adhesives, foresee it to be – where there is learning and friendship, and silly acts and green jokes.

Actually, I feel pressured. It has just dawned on me that I have to take so many risks to maintain (and improve) the org. I wonder how Noynoy can still sleep at night. Everyone is looking forward to a brighter, better Philippines. And he still has yet to prove himself worthy of the position. All the best, P-noy.

Good luck in your term, Noynoy. Good luck to me too! Let’s all just work together to achieve our goals, and more. A little cooperation and we’ll go places. 🙂

I promise to be a better Filipino.

I promise to be a better Adhesive. 🙂

3 Responses to “On promises and risks”

  1. galeaya July 2, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    Kudos to Adhere!

    I want to believe in Noynoy. I want to believe in his abilities, I want to believe that he can make a change. But with how the media is portraying him (trying so hard to put him in a good light, putting emphasis on matters not related to politics, antagonizing those who antagonize him), I feel a little uncomfortable supporting him. It’s like the innate nonconformist in me is screaming: if you patronize him as well, who’ll be left to point out his mistakes? I really hope that this doesn’t become something like the Obama situation in the US – full of promise but slow delivery. Worse yet, no delivery at all.

    • Gel July 2, 2010 at 9:14 am #

      Yes. It’s true that the media is “gentler” to Noynoy. Perhaps because of Kris and her being tactless? Or the Aquino family’s iconic “heroism”?

      Well, he has six years. It’s kind of demanding to ask for something from him now ’cause he’s just been proclaimed president. I just hope that people will give him a chance. He’s got a good attitude towards his goals and plans, and I don’t think he can maintain it if we continue bombarding him with criticisms left and right. Well, let’s see. 😉

  2. barrycade July 4, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    i hope he does as he promised. it’s all i ask of him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

