No more hanging out online?

24 Jun

Finally.

That’s me! And my Twitter’s empty. Bow.

I just signed up in Twitter. And it’s because of this:

I know you’re not email, okay? You’re RSS! And you don’t have to remind me that you’re a lot to read! Can’t you just let me bask in the clear sunny skies of denial? So stressful!

And that’s the reason why I made a Twitter account. I am not really a Microblogging fan but I want need news updates, and I want to see them mingling on a single webpage. Sorry, news websites. I know how much time and money you invest in making your homepages professional-looking, and how badly you want increased site traffic, but I want my feeds in a single list.  Call it lazy or shallow, but I’m not alone on this.

Before we enjoyed this “updates” trend were the Friendster days. People were spending hours and hours searching for friends’ profiles and posting lengthy testimonials. Before Friendster, people go online to actually visit websites and browse content. We used to literally hang out in webpages. But that’s not the case anymore.

Internet users are looking for more personalized content, more conversation. Here’s a good infographic to prove my point:

Aww, no more hanging out.

Conversation is in. Content is out. Sadly, it seems like Yahoo!, AOL, and MSN are trying out their luck in better content, faster content.

And I just realized why I want my feeds mingling with each other – because it’s personalized. I can combine updates from Inquirer, Kitchen Scrapbook, and Filipino Free Thinkers in a single page. I need not worry of filtering articles I’m not interested in. Yes, it’s the same old content online trend, but more personalized. The human race is successfully overcoming keyboard barriers. Less structure, the better. More personal, the better.

So here’s a little advice, Yahoo!, MSN, and AOL: if you want advertisers to buy in, do not target them. Stop coming up with articles that are “original, compelling and scalable enough for advertisers to buy in.” Save humanity from being all-day-in-portals-reading geeks. Make the netizens the boss. Initiate something that would spark conversation. Then leave them alone. Always read comments, respond once in a while, but leave them alone. They can make your websites more advertiser-friendly than your professional journalists. Mark my word.

But if you still want to maintain the content-only reputation, then at least try to be more personal. No more article+pics please. Talk to us. Listen to us. Then talk some more. We’ll pay more attention. I ask for no fee but do something about this now, before portals become the next alchemy.

PS

I do not cook, Kitchen Scrapbook‘s pictures are just yummy. 😉

8 Responses to “No more hanging out online?”

  1. neonturon June 24, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    I just made a Twitter account yesterday. I’m not really new to microblogging, I use Plurk everyday. I just tried Twitter because I think I have to find ways of reaching more people and Twitter is more popular than Plurk, so now I have two cyber “tambayans”.

    • Gel June 25, 2010 at 2:46 am #

      Hello Neil! Nice to see you here! 🙂 Which one do you like more anyway? Twitter or Plurk? 🙂

  2. Artem June 25, 2010 at 3:11 am #

    First, there’s something compelling about this post that made me comment on it. Haha. And second, the statistics is shocking, although I know that I’ve been a part of the “trend” (or the revolution). And last, I like the suggestion you made, and how you addressed it. 😉

    • Gel June 25, 2010 at 9:33 am #

      Awww na-touch ako. Hahaha. Seryoso. Thanks Artem! 🙂

      Yes the numbers are crazy! 6000 tweets PER MINUTE?! Crazy. The human brain never fails to give us something to talk about (or tweet about, in that case). 😉

  3. Jet Tumang June 25, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    Just made my twitter account >..<). Companies would surely benefit from knowing and identifying the current generation.

    • Jet Tumang June 25, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

      Where did my comment go? >.<

      • Gel June 26, 2010 at 11:33 am #

        Haha. Sorry. I was supposed to approve it first before it appears on my page. Haha. 😛

    • Gel June 26, 2010 at 11:33 am #

      Yes. And not just our generation, but all others who have learned to use the internet as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

